10 Questions with Catherine Morales-Sandoval

What do you do for your job?
I work in the System Operations group. I work on various projects that range from modeling the CVP/SWP, to water accounting, to forecasting water supply, to assisting the Water Rights group with technical analyses for permitting, and the list goes on.

How did you get into engineering?
I was aware of engineering, but didn’t quite know I would select a degree in it until friends and teachers spoke more about it in time for college applications. A teacher expressed how we should choose a degree to help with environmental issues occurring at the time. I dove into environmental engineering and from there landed in civil engineering.

What is the best part of your job?
I would say learning about California’s Water System. There is so much that goes on, not only the management and operations of how water is moved, but the balancing act between the water users, regulations, and environment. Our water system always changes, and I'll continue to learn new things as I work on different projects, which I’m excited for.

What hobby would you get into if time and money were not an issue?
Any outdoor hobby! Like snowboarding, whitewater rafting, climbing, biking, and so on.

Where would you spend all your time if you could?
Out in nature preferably somewhere by a water source. I find it peaceful and soothing to listen to the water running and enjoy the serenity of the outdoors.

What’s something you’ve been meaning to try, but just haven’t gotten around to yet?
I’ve been wanting to try skydiving, but my fears have been pushing it off. Maybe this year, I’ll gain the courage to skydive.

If you suddenly became a master at woodworking, what would you make?
I would craft a variety of items, including a canoe, wagon, tiny home, kitchenware, cuckoo clocks, and more.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
I would explore additional hobbies, such as picking up piano lessons, learning a new language, taking pottery classes, and potentially acquiring skills in knitting or sewing.

What do you wish you knew more about?
I wish I knew more about ways to make passive income like real estate and investing.

What is the most impressive thing you know how to do?
When I was young, a childhood friend would wiggle their ears and I was so fascinated by it. I tried to learn that, unfortunately, I was unsuccessful. Instead, I found out that I can move my nostrils.